A letter to my inner kids

“I am becoming my own Loving Parent
to help my Inner Child grow up emotionally”.

Dear inner children.

I can sense you want me to talk to you. I don’t know what to say and I’m sorry for that. I’m sorry I’ve ignored y’all. I’m sorry you were hurt and that I had to abandon myself to keep safe. Things are different now that I am grown up. For a long time I wanted someone else to take care of you as my parts. First M. Then S. But really it had to be me and probably should have been me all along. I’m sorry to have rejected you and abandoned you. You needed things. Like love and praise and attention. You weren’t given that. Instead you were shown cruelty and judgement and called names. You were violated and that was wrong. So, so wrong. You also had joy sucked out of your existence. So depression and shame and numbness became normal and stress and adrenaline got us out of it. Until it got too much and you needed to go internal again. It’s been a merry go round and I’m sorry. I am deeply sorry. Please forgive me. Thank you for trying to connect with me and not giving up even when I didn’t listen. I love you.

7 thoughts on “A letter to my inner kids

      1. For me personally I find that dissociation is such a strong habit that to acknowledge the little ones and be open to dialogue with them is kind of a daily practice, and not an easy one, at that! Every attempt deserves acknowledgment and congratulations in my eyes. 👍🏻🌷

      2. Thank you that means a lot. I have tried this somewhat at different times but last night felt the most authentic attempt. Once I realised they were trying to get my attention through sabotage I think it shifted things for me. I might write again.

      3. 😊 I think that authenticity is what I felt in my body when I read your letter. Like my littles were cheering you on and happy to hear someone else trying to stay open to connection. It’s really not easy. I don’t think people can possibly get how hard it is when they haven’t gone through the kind of stuff that leads to such iron cast dissociation in the first place! (Tears in my eyes as I write this, so my heart is somewhat open in this moment at least😁)

Leave a comment