Learning about good parenting

ACA “Reparenting my inner child” guidebook. Exercise – What’s Your Story?
Directions: on each of the statements below, share what you learned about good
parenting from these methods.

  • Watching how my parents behaved and choosing their healthy actions

Outwardly my parents were good and moral. They kept a tidy and clean house and garden. They took the bins out each week. They paid the bills. They got involved in church and community and volunteered at things. My mum cooked and baked and didn’t buy processed foods.

  • Watching my parents’ behavior and doing the opposite of what they did

My parents didn’t talk about emotions or feelings. They controlled conversations and environments. They didn’t really laugh. Life seemed hard and full of work and responsibility. The air was often tense and scary. So doing the opposite of this is to talk about emotions and feelings, pray to God for me to let go of control. Listen in conversations. Make time for fun and relaxation and laugh.

  • Seeing parenting in movies and on television shows

I can’t really think of anything right now other than the Brady Bunch. But that family seemed like they cared about each other and each others feelings.

  • Looking at friends’ parents and emulating them

My friend has a mum who believed her about her child sexual abuse. Her mum has engaged with the process of healing and recovery. A male friend of mine told me about some good parenting today between him and his teenage son. He encouraged his son to be honest and open with the boys boss to ask him if he could come late to work so he could watch his little brother play sport. My friend offered his son helpful things to say and showed that being honest and open can help you achieve what you want.

  • Using good parenting behavior seen in public places

I’m not sure about this one.

  • Reading books about good parenting

I feel resistant to this because I don’t have kids but I know this exercise is about reparenting my kids. I’m not sure I feel a bit silly thinking about this idea.

  • Taking classes on good parenting

Same as above. I just feel thankful I didn’t have kids. I already have a lot of inside parts to look after.

Leave a comment