Parallel play. It’s a thing.

Tonight I did something I’ve never really done before. I’ve got a new mate who is a survivor (they/ them). Awesome person, really smart and funny and kooky and cool. They asked me if I wanted to parallel play with them. I had no idea what this meant, but I found out that it’s a term used in child development psychology where kids play independently but together. Through this, the research says that they begin to co-regulate. My friend suggested we could do some colouring in. Now there’s a part of me that thinks this is sooooooo embarrassing and silly but mostly my internals embraced it. I’d worked all day and felt pretty flat to be honest. Still hung up on the breakup. Depressed and tired. Plus I’ve got a lot of work on this weekend so it feels relentless. Initially my friend wanted me to come over but I had a meeting later tonight so couldn’t do that unfortunately. We decided to just colour in independently and chat over the phone on speaker. I coloured in two pictures from the Ellen Lacter book.

These images were about embracing all the parts of myself and accepting who’s inside me. What was cool about tonight is that I was meant to go to an ACA meeting but I did this instead. I think allowing time for myself to reparent in this way was an act of self care and love that I haven’t really done before – that extended beyond meetings. It pushed me gently into action. I feel super comfortable with my friend and a little shy about being intimate in this safe plutonic way. Survivors are truly remarkable humans full of love and good ideas.

Leave a comment